Over 999,000 readers this year!

Person of the Year, community leaders receive high honors at Cheyenne Chamber’s Annual Banquet

Photo courtesy of the Greater Cheyenne Chamber of Commerce's Facebook page.

CHEYENNE, Wyo. — On Friday, the Greater Cheyenne Chamber of Commerce gathered to honor the extraordinary contributions of community champions at the Annual Chamber Awards. The event, held annually, illuminates the individuals whose dedication makes Cheyenne a beacon of community spirit and opportunity.

Cheyenne’s Person of the Year

The Person of the Year award is the highest honor bestowed by the Greater Cheyenne Chamber of Commerce. This award recognizes unwavering support to businesses in Cheyenne and Wyoming, and the recipient’s commitment to making the community a better place to live, work and do business.

With a professional career spanning 40 tax seasons, this year’s winner, Ken Dugas, has shown relentless dedication to his community. His involvement with the chamber, Cheyenne Leads, Kiwanis and numerous other volunteer and community-building activities has significantly impacted Cheyenne. Dugas has been a longtime supporter of the chamber’s governmental affairs efforts and was instrumental in launching its first annual legislative grade card in 2023.

Empowering the Community

The Annual Chamber Awards serve as a testament to the power of collective action and community spirit. The following individuals and groups received awards at this year’s banquet:

  • Chamber Spirit: Kelly Ceballos
  • Community Service: City Drug
  • Emerging Leader: Meagan Herrington
  • Non-Profit of the Year: Girls on the Run
  • Small Business of the Year: Black Cat Steel Erection and Crane Services
  • Large Business of the Year: Puma Steel
  • Teacher of the Year: Marti Derringer, First Grade Teacher at Goins Elementary
  • Student of the Year: Keely Henderson, Junior at South High School
  • Micro-Business of the Year: Ranch Eats Rustic Cuisine
  • Committee of the Year: Action & Advocacy
  • Business Advocate of the Year: Tara Nethercott
  • Chamber Heart: Dr. Larry Meuli
  • Person of the Year: Ken Dugas

To see the list of all award nominees, click here.