Over 999,000 readers this year!

LCSD1 student mathematicians, writers and academic competitors place top spots at recent tournaments

South High School's Future Business Leaders of America champions will participate at the national competition in Orlando, Florida, this coming summer.

Students are recognized for their achievements on Monday, April 8 inside the LCSD1 Board of Trustees meeting room in Cheyenne. (Jared Gendron/Cap City News)

CHEYENNE, Wyo. — On Monday night, around 80 LCSD1 students received certificates of achievement and shook hands with the district’s board of trustee members, who congratulated the teens for their recent academic and athletic endeavors.

Students from various junior and high schools across Cheyenne received certificates and applause from parents, district faculty and board members for their achievements. The youth participated in a variety of competitions including math, business leadership, language and writing and 4A sports.

The following students were recognized at Monday’s board meeting:

State Math Competition Winners

  • Grade 7 Individual Top 3
    • Lucas Ledesma, Carey Junior High School
    • Jude Dixon, Johnson Junior High School
    • Kenneth Zabriskie, Carey Junior High School
  • Grade 7 Team Award – Carey Junior High School
    • Lucas Ledesma
    • Kenneth Zabriskie
    • Oliver Avram
  • Grade 8 Team Award – Carey Junior High School
    • Maggie Dixon
    • Ethaney Frint
    • Lola Hickox
    • Devyn Kaiser
  • Grade 8 Individual Top 3
    • Susanna Scranton, McCormick Junior High School
    • Wyatt Heilig, McCormick Junior High School
    • Gabryhl Neal, Poder Academy
  • Grade 8 Team Award – McCormick Junior High School
    • Susanna Scranton
    • Wyatt Heilig
    • Iris Beadles
    • Sophie Reynolds
  • Class B Individual Top 3 – Grades 9 & 10
    • Ashley Olson, East High School
    • Josie Haberkorn, East High School
    • Henry McGuire, Central High School
  • Class B Team Award — South High School
    • Aaron Walker
    • Eli Greenlee
    • Ross Ten Eyck
    • Neal Hushbeck
  • Class A Individual Top 3 – Grades 11 & 12
    • Nathaniel Thornell, Central High School
    • David Haberkorn, East High School
    • Reuben McGuire, Central High School
  • Class A Team Award — Central High School
    • Nathaniel Thornell
    • Reuben McGuire
    • Giuseppe Ferrara

South High School Future Business Leaders of America Champions

  • Colbi McLean – Financial Statement Analysis
  • Caleb Brewer and Jaden Roadifer – Community Service Project
  • Rhayce Barta – Business Management
  • Jaden Roadifer and Anna Roadifer – Local Chapter Annual Business Report
  • Caitlyn Ganskow – Electronic Career Portfolio
  • Jack Artery – Marketing
  • Tyson McMillion and Jack Artery – Sales Presentation
  • Caleb Brewer and Caleb Greenlee – Entrepreneurship
  • Neal Hushbeck – Public Service Announcement
  • Aidan Cabrera, Caitlyn Ganskow and Neal Hushbeck – Broadcast Journalism
  • Aidan Cabrera and Neal Hushbeck – Computer Game & Simulation

The students qualified for the FBLA national trip, which will take place during the summer in Orlando, Florida, according to FBLA Advisor Kate Tietjen.

University of Wyoming World Language Day LCSD1 Champions

  • Quincy Dereemer, Central High School – Writing, Essay (Spanish)
  • Kaylee Fisbeck, East High School – Video, Intermediate (Spanish)
  • Andrew Lance and Nathaniel Thornell, Central High School – Linguistic Olympiads
  • Iris Beadles and Josephine O’Hara, McCormick Junior High School – French Level 1 Group
  • Kamran Kempter-Jones, Central High School – French Level 4
  • Julian Edmunds, East High School – German Level 2
  • Aris Shank, South High School – German Level 4
  • Paloma Arago, East High School – Spanish Level 5

East High School Wyoming Academic Challenge Champions

  • Kinsington Dobler
  • Karson Costa
  • Thomas Dixon
  • David Haberkorn
  • Simon Wolf

East High School 4A State Girls Indoor Track Champions

  • Taliah Morris – Long Jump, 55 Meter Run, 200 Meter Run
  • Maggie Madsen – 800 Meter Run, 1600 Meter Run, 3200 Meter Run
  • Indoor Track Team
    • Taliah Morris
    • Kendra Upton
    • Nadia Burdett
    • Anna Anderson
    • Emma Smith
    • Ynes Ronnau
    • Sydni Sawyer
    • Maggie Madsen
    • Gracie Craig
    • Molly Madsen
    • Ella Hohn
    • Juli Moreno
    • Taylor Nelson
    • Izzy De Anda
    • Evelyn Leiker
    • Gemeny Aparicio
    • Christal Dollard
    • Alina Olmos

“None of this would be possible with just me,” said Amanda Brinkman, coach for the indoor track team. “These kids wouldn’t be where they need to be without our supporting staff.” 

East High School 4A State Wrestling Champions

  • Liam Fox, 150 lbs.
  • Colby Olson, 190 lbs.
  • Charlie Green, 285 lbs.