Over 550,000 readers this year!

Guide to candidates for Laramie County primary ballot

A voter holds an "I Voted" sticker after participating in the 2018 Wyoming Primary election on Tuesday, Aug. 21, in Casper. (Oil City, File)

CHEYENNE, Wyo. — Primary Election Day is quickly approaching, with polls open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 16. Get to know your city, county and state candidates with our compiled list.

Wyoming residents may register and vote at their polling places on Election Day, according to the Wyoming Secretary of State’s Voter’s Guide. Otherwise, they can register to vote at their County Clerk’s office or by mail no less than 14 days before an election.

Effective July 1, 2021, Wyoming voters are required to show an acceptable form of identification when voting in person; a list of acceptable forms can be found right under “General Information” in the guide, or on the Wyoming Secretary of State website.


Here are the filings for federal, state, county and city offices at the close of the filing period May 27, according to the Laramie county clerk’s website. Asterisks denote an incumbent.

Candidates have been provided with the opportunity to describe their platform in their own words via Cap City News’s candidate questionnaires. Names of candidates who have completed the questionnaires are linked.

(Federal) U.S. Representative (two-year term)

  • Robyn M. Belinskey (R) 
  • Anthony Bouchard (R) 
  • Liz Cheney (R)* 
  • Harriet Hageman (R) 
  • Denton Knapp (R) 
  • Lynnette Greybull (D)
  • Steve Helling (D)
  • Meghan R. Jensen (D)

Wyoming Governor (four-year term)

  • Brent Bien (R) 
  • Mark Gordon (R)*
  • James Scott Quick (R) 
  • Rex Rammell (R) 
  • Theresa A. Livingston (D)
  • Rex Wilde (D)

Secretary of State

  • Mark Armstrong (R) 
  • Dan Dockstader (R) 
  • Chuck Gray (R) 
  • Tara Nethercott (R) 

State Auditor

  • Kristi Racines (R) 

State Treasurer

  • Bill Gallop (R)
  • Curt Meier (R)*

Superintendent of Public Instruction

  • Megan Degenfelder (R)
  • Thomas Kelly (R)
  • Brian Schroeder (R)*
  • Robert J. White III (R)
  • Jennifer Zerba (R)
  • Sergio A. Maldonado, Sr. (D)

Wyoming State Senate (four-year seats)

Senate District 5


Senate District 7

Senate District 31

  • Evie Brennan (R)
  • Janet Marschner (R)

Wyoming House of Representatives (two-year seats)

House District 4

  • Jeremy Haroldson (R)*

House District 7

House District 8

Scott Royce (R) withdrew June 10, 2022.


House District 9

House District 10

House District 11


House District 12

  • Derek Goldfuss (R)
  • Clarence Styvar (R)*

House District 41

  • Bill Henderson (R)*

House District 42


House District 43

JoAnn Taylor (R) withdrew June 3, 2022.

House District 44


House District 61 (new district)

Laramie County


  • Kenneth Guille (R)*


  • Debra Lee (R)*
  • Andrew (Andy) McMahon (R)

Clerk of District Court

  • Diane Sanchez (R)*

County Commission (three seats available)


  • Rebecca Reid (R)*

District Attorney

  • Thomas E. Callison (R)
  • Sylvia Miller Hackl (R)



  • Tammy Deisch (R)

Cheyenne City Council

Ward I

  • Michael J. Blakely
  • Cameron Karajanis
  • Scott D. Roybal

Ward II

Kelly Wright withdrew June 3, 2022.

Ward III

  • Ken A. Esquibel
  • Joe Shogrin

According to Laramie County Clerk’s Candidates’ Corner web page, offices and issues to be elected/voted on the 2022 General Ballot include:

  • Retention of Judges: First Judicial District Circuit Court, District Court Judge A & C
  • College and School Boards (Laramie County School District #1 and #2), 1% Sales and Use Tax, Lodging
  • Tax and Constitutional Amendments A and B