Over 999,000 readers this year!

Not much choice: One-horse races for three of five Wyoming elected executive seats

Republican Chuck Gray is facing no challenger in the General Election race for Wyoming secretary of state. (Greg Hirst, Oil City News File)

CASPER, Wyo. — Three out of five executive seats up for election in Wyoming are one-horse political races this General Election season.

The only name appearing on Wyoming General Election ballots for secretary of state is Chuck Gray, who defeated Tara Nethercott and Mark Armstrong in the Republican Primary Election.

Incumbent Wyoming State Auditor Kristi Racines ran unopposed in the Republican Primary and faces no challenger in the General Election.

Incumbent State Treasurer Curt Meier defeated challenger Bill Gallop during the Republican Primary and is facing no challenger during the General Election.

The executive seat races that do have multiple candidates appearing on the ballot this General Election include the race for governor and the race for superintendent of public instruction:

Wyoming Governor (four-year term):

  • Mark Gordon (R)*
  • Theresa A. Livingston (D)
  • Jared J. Baldes (L)

Superintendent of Public Instruction:

  • Megan Degenfelder (R)
  • Sergio A. Maldonado Sr. (D)

It is not only State of Wyoming elected executive seats that lack competition during the General Election. 10 out of 11 seats representing Natrona County in the Wyoming Legislature have only one name appearing on the General Election ballot. Details are available in this story.

How to vote in Laramie County

General Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8. People in Laramie County wanting to cast a ballot on Nov. 8 can find their polling location in this story. Eligible voters can go to their polling location between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Tuesday to cast a ballot.

People eligible to vote can register on Election Day if they aren’t already registered. Identification is required to register to vote. Registered voters are also required to show ID when casting a ballot. Information on accepted forms of ID is available from the Wyoming Secretary of State’s Office.