Over 999,000 readers this year!

Wyoming’s Graham Ike named to watch list for Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award

Wyoming men's basketball center Graham Ike vs. New Mexico at Arena-Auditorium in Laramie. (University of Wyoming Athletics)

CASPER, Wyo. — The Naismath Memorial Hall of Fame has selected Wyoming Cowboys forward Graham Ike to the watch list for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, UW Athletics said in a press release on Thursday.

Ike is among 20 forwards across the country named to the watch list. The full list is as follows:

Enrique FreemanAkronKris MurrayIowa
Ąžuolas TubelisArizonaKJ WilliamsLSU
Johni BroomeAuburn Donta ScottMaryland 
Arthur KalumaCreightonDeAndre WilliamsMemphis
DaRon Holmes IIDaytonNorchad OmierMiami
Kyle FilipowskiDukePete NanceNorth Carolina
Jalen SlawsonFurman GG JacksonSouth Carolina
Drew TimmeGonzagaJayden GardnerVirginia 
Jarace WalkerHouston Justyn MuttsVirginia Tech
Trayce Jackson-DavisIndianaGraham IkeWyoming 

“The Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to annually recognize the best power forwards in the collegiate game with the Karl Malone Award, which bears the name of one of the greatest players of all time,” John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame, said in the press release. “To be named to the watchlist of the Karl Malone Award is a great honor and I know he values the opportunity to watch these players compete throughout the season. We are honored to have his unique perspective in our evaluation each year.”

Ike is the first Cowboy to be named to the watch list since Larry Nance Jr. was named a finalist in 2014–15, UW Athletics said. In addition to being named to the watch list, Ike has also been named the Mountain West Preseason Player of the Year and been named to the All-Mountain West Preseason team.

Ike averaged 19.5 points per game last season, second in the Mountain West and 30th in the nation, UW Athletics said. He grabbed an average of 9.6 rebounds per game, second most in the Mountain West and 21st across the country.

Fans will be able to participate in voting for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, UW Athletics said. Public voting rounds start Friday, Oct. 28. As the season progresses, the watch list will be narrowed to 10 players in January 2023 and to five in February.

“In March the five finalists will be presented to Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, where a winner will be selected,” UW Athletics said.

Previous winners of the award include:

  • Keegan Murray, Iowa (2022)
  • Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021)
  • Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020)
  • Zion Williamson, Duke (2019)
  • Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018)
  • Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017)
  • Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016)
  • Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015)

The Cowboys will start their season at home at 7 p.m. Nov. 7 against Colorado Christian, UW Athletics said.